Freeplaytech Forum
Is it worth me loading a new image - Printable Version

+- Freeplaytech Forum (https://forum.freeplaytech.com)
+-- Forum: Freeplay Zero / Freeplay CM3 / Game Pie Advance (https://forum.freeplaytech.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=24)
+--- Forum: Freeplay Zero/CM3 (AKA GPA) Software (https://forum.freeplaytech.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Is it worth me loading a new image (/showthread.php?tid=4987)



Is it worth me loading a new image - sneakypebbles - 07-15-2019

Hey guys, I've had my Freeplay Zero for a while now and am trying to get better performance out of my SNES and PSX games. The image I'm currently using is Freeplay_Zero_17111701. Is it worth me loading a new image or is there not much value to doing so performance wise? Can I do this through updates or is it better just to write to the SD and start again fresh?

Thanks I really appreciate any help I can get Big Grin


RE: Is it worth me loading a new image - Ordinary Vanity - 07-16-2019

(07-15-2019, 10:26 PM)sneakypebbles Wrote: Hey guys, I've had my Freeplay Zero for a while now and am trying to get better performance out of my SNES and PSX games. The image I'm currently using is Freeplay_Zero_17111701. Is it worth me loading a new image or is there not much value to doing so performance wise? Can I do this through updates or is it better just to write to the SD and start again fresh?

Thanks I really appreciate any help I can get Big Grin

The best performance I've gotten out of my Zero is with whatever image is based on RetroPie 4.3. RetroPie 4.4 seems to be a little too taxing on the Zero. My FPZ runs PSX fine, even with the experimental display driver.


RE: Is it worth me loading a new image - sneakypebbles - 07-16-2019

(07-16-2019, 02:48 AM)Ordinary Vanity Wrote:
(07-15-2019, 10:26 PM)sneakypebbles Wrote: Hey guys, I've had my Freeplay Zero for a while now and am trying to get better performance out of my SNES and PSX games. The image I'm currently using is Freeplay_Zero_17111701. Is it worth me loading a new image or is there not much value to doing so performance wise? Can I do this through updates or is it better just to write to the SD and start again fresh?

Thanks I really appreciate any help I can get Big Grin

The best performance I've gotten out of my Zero is with whatever image is based on RetroPie 4.3. RetroPie 4.4 seems to be a little too taxing on the Zero. My FPZ runs PSX fine, even with the experimental display driver.

So you'd recommend 18032101 over 19062002?
Also in one of your older posts I noticed you added these lines to boot.cfg

hdmi_cvt=320 240 60 1 0 0 0
hdmi_mode=87

Does this improve anything?


RE: Is it worth me loading a new image - Flavor - 07-16-2019

There is also now a RetroPie 4.5. We are getting ready to release a new image for that.

I think that the config.txt lines
hdmi_cvt=320 240 60 1 0 0 0
hdmi_mode=87
will probably help with performance a little bit. They will likely make HDMI unusable.


RE: Is it worth me loading a new image - Ordinary Vanity - 07-16-2019

(07-16-2019, 04:20 AM)sneakypebbles Wrote:
(07-16-2019, 02:48 AM)Ordinary Vanity Wrote:
(07-15-2019, 10:26 PM)sneakypebbles Wrote: Hey guys, I've had my Freeplay Zero for a while now and am trying to get better performance out of my SNES and PSX games. The image I'm currently using is Freeplay_Zero_17111701. Is it worth me loading a new image or is there not much value to doing so performance wise? Can I do this through updates or is it better just to write to the SD and start again fresh?

Thanks I really appreciate any help I can get Big Grin

The best performance I've gotten out of my Zero is with whatever image is based on RetroPie 4.3. RetroPie 4.4 seems to be a little too taxing on the Zero. My FPZ runs PSX fine, even with the experimental display driver.

So you'd recommend 18032101 over 19062002?
Also in one of your older posts I noticed you added these lines to boot.cfg

hdmi_cvt=320 240 60 1 0 0 0
hdmi_mode=87

Does this improve anything?

Like Flavor said, it will probably give a small boost. That line is just adding a smaller render resolution.

Certain systems benefit from a different emulator. For SNES, I've had great results tracking down the lr-armsnes core, which I think runs much better than lr-snes9x2002. PiSNES is another fast core, but suffers from some pretty significant input lag and no R-GUI. GBA just needs the gpsp core with the correct GBA BIOS, and every game that is supported pretty much runs at full speed.

Some games simply won't run well or at all, no matter what image you use.